Everton Primary School

Everyone. Everyday. Everlasting.

The Governing Body




The Governing Body of Everton Primary School is responsible for:
a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction; 
b. Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the 
school and its pupils; and 
c. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its 
money is well spent. 





The governing body of Everton Primary School is determined by an instrument of government and re-constituted (11th March 2015) as per the requirements of The School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations 2012.  The governing body is now made up of 10 Governors:


3 Parent Governors - elected from the parent body;

1 LA Governor - appointed by the LA;

2 Staff Governors (including the Head Teacher);

4 Co-opted Governors - appointed by the governing body for specific skills and to represent the community.


The current membership of the governing body is:


Chair - Richard Kirbyshaw - Local Authority Governor (04/12/19 to 03/12/23)

Vice Chair -  Tracy Crowe - Parent Governor (03/02/15 to 02/02/2023)

Susan Hughes - Co-opted Governor (11/03/15 to 28/02/2023)

Jane Backhouse - Co-opted Governor (09/02/16 to 08/02/24)

Ryan Griffiths - Parent Governor (16/02/2017 to 15/01/21, 1/03/2021 to 28/02/2025)

Head Teacher - Andrew Green - Staff Governor (01/09/2021 to present)

Alison Bowers - Staff Governor (06/12/21 to 05/12/25)

Vivienne Preece - Co-opted Governor (04/12/19 to 03/12/2023) 

Anna Mallinson - Parent Governor (01/03/2021 to 28/02/2025)

Hannah Ryan - Parent Governor (01/03/2021 to 28/02/2025)

Anna Backhouse - Co-opted Governor (10/03/2021 to 9/03/2025)



A key document for anyone interested in the governance of the school or in becoming a governor is at:



Work of the Governing Body


The work of the governing body is in the public domain, subject to confidentiality, and all documents are available via the school office.





Governance is included in the Leadership and Management section of OFSTED's school inspection that was rated Good in February 2018 at:
Specifically the comments on governance were:
  • The governing body is active, energetic and holds an accurate view of the school’s strengths and weaknesses. It deploys the different skills of its members well, particularly in respect of safeguarding pupils’ health and well-being, and ensures that all of its statutory responsibilities are met.  Governors track pupils’ achievement carefully and know how it compares to other schools’.
  • The Chair of the governing body has a very clear understanding of governors’ roles and responsibilities, and adopts a keen strategic perspective in overseeing the school’s future development. He readily acknowledges the impact of the headteacher in driving recent improvements.
  • Governors know how the pupil premium is spent and have followed the impact of this spending through to the outcomes reached by those pupils who are entitled to its support.
  • The school holds all teachers, including the headteacher, rigorously to account for the effectiveness of their performance. Promotions and pay rises are linked through this to the amount of pupils’ learning.




Governor Monitoring and Visits at Everton Primary School

Class 2 dissecting owl pellets with one of our governors - Mrs Sue Hughes.





Governor Register of Business Interests




Governance roles in other schools

Any interest declared


Richard Kirbyshaw



Tracy Crowe



Susan Hughes



Jane Backhouse



Andrew Green



Alison Bowers



Ryan Griffiths


Yes - Treasurer of the Metcalfe Recreation Committee from which the school hires the village hall and the sports field.

  Vivienne Preece  None   None
  Anna Mallinson  None  None
  Anna Backhouse  None  None
  Hannah Ryan  None  None